Add a Note or Gift Message:

About Mantras


the word mantra means "to transcend the thinking mind."  mantras are sanskrit words or seed syllables that are sung, chanted, or mentally repeated with the use of a mala, in order to cultivate an energetic that is supportive to the body/mind, and to aid the mind in concentration during meditation.  for example, have you ever noticed that your tone and words create a certain energetic in your environment?  have you ever caught yourself humming a tune and noticed that it may be the humming itself that has lightened your mood? using mantras has this same effect.  these sounds or phrases may be used as the object of concentration in order to quiet the mind or activate the chakras, and can be chanted out loud or internally to create an environment that is conducive to meditation and healing. mantra practice is also considered the safest method for meditation and spiritual progression.


the seven chakras

the chakras are each of the centers of energetic power in the human body.  there are seven main chakras described in the tantric scriptures. each chakra represents specific vibrations and frequencies with progressively higher states of consciousness and growth.  the key to unlocking the entire system is the heart chakra.

muladhara chakra:  the root chakra, also known as muladhara chakra, is the power center of the body associated with survival and is located at the base of the spine.  it relates to instinct, security, and to basic human potential.  it governs sexuality, mental stability, sensuality, and our sense of security. it is the resting seat of dormant kundalini, which is the natural energy of the self, where the self is the universal consciousness present in every being. its seed mantra is lam (pronounced lum).

svadisthana chakra: the sacral chakra, also known as swadisthana chakra, is the power center of the body located in the sacrum.  it relates to relationships, violence, addictions, basic emotional needs, and pleasure.  it governs reproduction, creativity, joy, and enthusiasm. its seed mantra is vam (pronounced vum).

manipura chakra: the solar plexus chakra, also known as manipura chakra, is the power center of the body where the most energy flows. it is the focal point for our power and will, as well as our sense of empowerment, self control, and discipline. it relates to our personal power, fear, anxiety, opinion, introversion, and transition. it governs digestion, expansiveness, and all matters of growth. its seed mantra is ram (pronounced rum).

anahata chakra: the heart chakra, also known as anahata chakra, is the power center of the body located in the chest. it relates to complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, equilibrium, rejection, and well-being. it governs circulation, unconditional love for the self and others, passion, and devotion. its seed mantra is yam (pronounced yum).

vishuddha chakra: the throat chakra, also known as vishuddha chakra, is the power center of the body that relates to communication and growth through expression. it governs communication, independence, fluent thought, and a sense of security. its seed mantra is ham (pronounced hum).

ajna chakra: the brow chakra, also known as ajna chakra or third eye chakra, is the power center of the body located at the brow. it relates to balancing the higher and lower selves and trusting inner guidance. it is associated with the access of intuition, clarity, the end of duality, and deals with visual consciousness. its seed mantra is aum or om.

sahasrara chakra: the crown chakra, also known as sahasrara chakra, is generally considered to be the chakra of pure consciousness. when kundalini shakti rises to this point, a state of liberation is attained. it is located just above the crown of the head and relates to inner wisdom and death of the body.  it deals with the release of karma, meditation, universal consciousness, unity, and transcendence. it is considered beyond the senses and sense organs, and is often described without a seed syllable.

common mantras

aum: pronounced and sometimes written as om or ohm, the vibration of this mantra is said to be the first primordial sound of existence.  its vibration represents the manifestation of the Supreme Being, the universe, past, present, and future, and the cyclical nature of beginning, transformation, and end.  it is the reflection of the absolute reality, without beginning or end, and embraces all that exists.  when taken letter by letter, A-U-M represents the divine energy united in its three elementary aspects: creation, preservation and liberation.

om gum ganapataye namaha:  pronounced ohm-goom-ghana-pot-aye-ay-nah-mah-ha, this mantra is associated with the deity ganesha, the remover of obstacles.  it helps to remove that which stands between us and our desires.

om mani padme hum: pronounced ohm-mah-nee-pod-may-hum, this mantra is said to carry all of the teachings of the Buddha.  it invokes the embodiment of metta, the philosophy and practice of universal love and compassion.

om namah shivaya:  pronounced ohm-nah-mah-shee-vie-yah, this mantra is associated with the deity shiva, the protector.  it invokes strength, protection, fearlessness, and consciousness.

om shanti shanti shanti:  pronounced ohm-shahntee, this mantra literally translates as om peace peace peace.

om sri maha lakshmiyei namaha:  pronounced ohm-shree-mah-ha-locksh-my-ay-nah-mah-ha, this mantra is associated with the deity lakshmi, the giver of prosperity and wealth.  it invokes abundance and prosperity.

om sri rama jaya rama:  pronounced ohm-shree-rah-mah-jie-yah-rah-mah, this mantra is associated with the deity rama, and invokes transcendance of karma and purification of the ego.

so hum:  known as the so hum breath, this mantra is chanted mentally with each breath, with “so” chanted on the outbreath and “hum” chanted on the inbreath.  the mantra translates as "i am that" and when chanted, brings us to an awareness that we simply "are" and are one with the universal energy that is without form.




**DISCLAIMER: the information and folklore presented in this shop is for enjoyment purposes only and is not intended to cure, treat, diagnose, or prevent any disease, physically or mentally. If you are experiencing either of these issues, please seek care from a healthcare professional.

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • Amex
  • Cirrus
  • Delta
  • Discover
  • PayPal